Saturday, April 15, 2006


Last year, Laphroaig cask strength was voted 'The Best Single Malt in the World'. No you might think that would be a tough act to follow, but at the San Francisco World Spirits Competition the distillery went one better … and then some.

The San Fran contest is considered by many to be the toughest and most prestigious of awards. The panel of judges ‘blind’ taste all the whiskies so that there is no bias.

Distillery manager John Campbell said: “We entered all our 5 main expressions: 30 year, 15 year, 10 year Cask Strength, 10 year and, of course, Quarter Cask. To give it away a little, there is a special award above the usual Bronze, Silver and Gold, known as Double Gold. This is reserved for when a whisky not only wins gold in its class, but also is voted first by the whole panel of experts.

Now the results:
30 Year old - Double Gold and winner of the of 'The Best Single Malt in the whole show'!
15 Year old - Double Gold!
10 Year old - Cask Strength - Double Gold!
10 Year old - Double Gold!
Quarter Cask - Double Gold!
And to cap it all Laphroaig was voted "Distiller of the Year" - one of the highest honours that can be bestowed.